Faculty Excellence Recognized with Presentation of Annual Awards

Faculty Excellence Recognized with Presentation of Annual Awards

May 11, 2012

John T. Schlotterbeck, A.W. Crandall Professor of History at DePauw University, has been awarded the Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award. Presented annually by the president of the University to one or more senior members of the faculty since 1988, the Tucker Award is designed to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, teaching excellence, their chosen disciplines, and service to the University.

At this evening's faculty recognition program, hosted by President Brian W. Casey at The Elms,Edwards Carla Carla G. Edwards, professor of music and University organist, was presented with the 2012 Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award. Established in 1981, the Minar Award is presented in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement by a faculty member and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies.

Pamela M. Propsom, Kenneth S. Wagoner Professor of Psychology, was announced as the recipient of the G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service. Named after DePauw's thirteenth president (1928-1936), the award was created in 2009 by a gift from Neal B. Abraham, who served as DePauw's executive vice president, vice president for academic affairs and professor of physics from 1998 to 2009, and his wife, Donna L. Wiley.

The evening included recognition of four DePauw faculty members who are retiring at the conclusion of the current academic year: Nancy J. Davis, Lester Martin Jones Professor of Sociology, who came to DePauw in 1982; Carl A. Huffman, University, Professor, Robert Stockwell Professor of Greek Language and Literature and Professor of Classical Studies since 1981; Cleveland T. Johnson, University Professor and Professor of Music, who joined the faculty in 1985; and Robert D. Kingsley, Professor of Art and Art History since 1976.