Button Menu

The DePauw Named 'Newspaper of the Year'; Among 26 ICPA Awards

The DePauw Named 'Newspaper of the Year'; Among 26 ICPA Awards

April 16, 2013

Student journalists working for Indiana's oldest college newspaper, The DePauw, won a total of 26 awards -- including twelve first place honors and recognition as Division III Newspaper of the Year -- at the Indiana Collegiate Press Association's annual awards program. The ICPA's 54th annual convention took place over the weekend at Indiana University - Bloomington.

More than 30 student publications compete in the contest.  Division III includes non-daily newspapers at schools with enrollments of fewer than 3,000 students.

The DePauw's awards include:

  • First Place - Division III Newspaper of the Year
  • First Place - Best Themed Issue
  • First Place - Best Breaking News Reporting: Joseph Fanelli, Chase G. Hall and Ellen Kobe
  • First Place - Best Non-Deadline News Reporting: Chase Hall and Matthew Cecil
  • First Place - Best Staff Editorial; Third Place - Chase Hall
  • First Place - Best Sports Column: Michael Appelgate; Second Place - Joseph Fanelli
  • First Place - Best Entertainment Story: Nettie Finn
  • First Place - Best Sports Feature Story: Michael AppelgateEast College tall xz
  • First Place - Best Sports Page: Lizzie Hineman
  • First Place - Best Feature Page: Margaret Distler
  • First Place - Best Informational Graphic: Margaret Distler; Second Place - Margaret Distler and Franki Abraham
  • First Place - Best Editorial Cartoon: Bob Allen
  • Second Place - Best In-Depth Story: Joseph Fanelli
  • Second Place - Best Entertainment Column: Adrienne Westenfeld
  • Second Place - Best Special Issue
  • Second Place - Best Sports News Story: Michael Appelgate and Ellen Kobe
  • Second Place - Best Special Section Front/Cover: Franki Abraham
  • Second Place - Best News Photo: Paul Fesenmeier 
  • Second Place - Best Feature Photo: Margaret Distler
  • Third Place - Best Pullout/Wrap Section
  • Third Place - Best Opinion Column: Sunny Strader
  • Third Place - Best Overall Design
  • Third Place - Best Sports Photo: Emily Green

A complete list of winners can be found here.

Founded in 1852 as Asbury Notes, The DePauw has a rich tradition of being the springboard for the careers of many of America's great journalists. Alumni of the student newspaper include "business journalist of the century" Bernard Kilgore and Kenneth C. Hogate of the Wall Street Journal; Eugene C. and Eugene S. Pulliam of the Indianapolis Star and Central Newspapers chain; Donald Maxwell, former editor of the Chicago Tribune; Robert Giles, former curator of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University and former editor of the Detroit News; John McWethy, former ABC News Senior Pentagon Correspondent; and James B. Stewart, Pulitzer Prize-winning former front page editor of the Wall Street Journal, bestselling author and New York Times columnist. The paper is completely independent, and staffed and managed entirely by students. (photo: The DePauw staff at work in 1963)

Visit The DePauw online here.