#11 Tigers Advance to Second Straight NCAC Title Match

#11 Tigers Advance to Second Straight NCAC Title Match

April 27, 2013

Oberlin, Ohio - Eleventh-ranked DePauw advanced to the North Coast Athletic Conference Women's Tennis Championship match for the second straight year after topping 30th-ranked Oberlin in the semifinals, 5-2.

The Tigers will face Denison in Sunday's 11 a.m. title match after the Big Red topped Kenyon by a 5-1 score. DePauw, the defending NCAC champion, is making its ninth straight appearance in a conference championship match including seven in the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference. The Tigers have won five consecutive conference titles.

DePauw took a 2-1 lead after doubles as Maggie MacPhail and Caroline Emhardt claimed an 8-3 win over Preeya Shah and Erin Johnson at the number-two spot. Julie Wittwer and Kaitlin Pickrel were 8-1 winners over Brenna Sheldon and Ariana Abayomi at third doubles.

The Tigers took the team victory with three singles wins. Claire Marshall defeated Sheldon 6-3, 6-2 at second singles, while Meg Crowley topped Grace Porter at third singles by 6-1, 6-2 scores and Taylor Mahr was a 6-4, 6-1 victor over Johnson at number five.

DePauw improved to 16-7 with the win, while the Yeowomen dropped to 17-7

For more information on the DePauw tennis program, follow DePauw on Twitter (@DePauwAthletics / @DePauwTennis) or like them on Facebook (www.facebook.com/DePauwAthletics).

DePauw University vs Oberlin
4/27/2013 at Oberlin, Ohio
(Don Hunsinger Courts)

#11 DePauw University 4, #30 Oberlin 3

 Singles competition 
1. Farah Leclercq (OBEW) def. Maggie MacPhail (DPU) 6-4, 3-6, 10-8
2. Claire Marshall (DPU) def. Brenna Sheldon (OBEW) 6-3, 6-2
3.  Meg Crowley (DPU) def. Grace Porter (OBEW) 6-1, 6-2
4. Preeya Shah (OBEW) vs. Julie Wittwer (DPU) unfinished
5. Taylor Mahr (DPU) def. Erin Johnson (OBEW) 6-4, 6-1
6. Ariana Abayomi (OBEW) vs. Elizabeth Young (DPU) unfinished

 Doubles competition 
1. Farah Leclercq/Grace Porter (OBEW) def. Meg Crowley/Claire Marshall (DPU) 9-8 (10-8)
2. Maggie MacPhail/Caroline Emhardt (DPU) def. Preeya Shah/Erin Johnson (OBEW) 8-3
3. Julie Wittwer/Kaitlin Pickrel (DPU) def. Brenna Sheldon/Ariana Abayomi (OBEW) 8-1

Match Notes:
DePauw University 16-7; National ranking #11
Oberlin 17-7; National ranking #30