Button Menu

The DePauw Takes 16 ICPA Awards, Including 'Newspaper of the Year'

The DePauw Takes 16 ICPA Awards, Including 'Newspaper of the Year'

April 16, 2014

Student journalists from DePauw University collected a total of 16 awards -- including seven first place honors and recognition as Division III Newspaper of the Year -- at the Indiana Collegiate Press Association's annual awards program. The event took Saturday, April 5, at ICPA's 55th annual convention at Indiana University - Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI).

Students from The DePauw, Indiana's oldest college newspaper, competed against other journalists in Division III, which includes non-daily newspapers at schools with enrollments of fewer than 3,000 students.

The DePauw shared "Newspaper of the Year" honors with Wabash College.

Senior Dana Ferguson, past editor of The DePauw, was one of four finalists (covering all divisions) for the Brook Baker Collegiate Journalist of the Year Award.  That honor went to Charles Scudder of Indiana University.

The DePauw's awards include:

    • First Place - Division III Newspaper of the Year (tied with Wabash College)
    • First Place - Best Single Issue
    • First Place - Best Special Issue
    • First Place and Second Place - Best Stand-Alone /Pullout Section
    • First Place - Best Non-Deadline News Reporting: Nicole DeCriscio
    • First Place - Best In-Depth Story: Ellen Kobe
    • First Place - Best Feature Page: Frank Abraham
    • Second Place - Best Staff Editorial
    • Second Place - Best News Feature Story: Nettie Finn
    • Second Place - Best Overall Design
    • Second Place - Best Illustration: Frank Abraham
    • Second Place - Best Sports Page
    • Third Place - Best Opinion Column: Arthur Small
    • Third Place - Best Sports News Story: Michael Appelgate

Founded in 1852 as Asbury Notes, The DePauw has a rich tradition of being the springboard for the careers of many of America's great journalists. 1936 Student NewspaperAlumni of the student newspaper include "business journalist of the century" Bernard Kilgore and Kenneth C. Hogate of the Wall Street Journal; Eugene C. and Eugene S. Pulliam of the Indianapolis Star and Central Newspapers chain; Donald Maxwell, former editor of the Chicago Tribune; Robert Giles, former curator of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University and former editor of the Detroit News; Aaron Lucchetti, deputy banking editor at the Wall Street Journal and Andrew Tangel, transportation reporter for the Journal; John McWethy, former ABC News Senior Pentagon Correspondent; and James B. Stewart, Pulitzer Prize-winning former front page editor of the Wall Street Journal, bestselling author and New York Times columnist. The paper is completely independent, and staffed and managed entirely by students. (photo: a member of The DePauw staff at work in 1936)

Visit The DePauw online here.