Prof. Nahyan Fancy Receives Fellowship from Institute for Advanced Study

Prof. Nahyan Fancy Receives Fellowship from Institute for Advanced Study

February 13, 2015

Nahyan Fancy, associate professor of history at DePauw University, has been offered membership in the Institute for Advanced Study for the Fall 2015 semester. Located in Princeton, New Jersey, the Institute is a private, independent postdoctoral research center for theoretical research and intellectual inquiry.

Selected by the Institute's School of Historical Studies, Dr. Fancy will join 200 other members, visitors and fellows who will take up residence in one of the four schools of the Institute. The visiting scholars are selected from a pool of 1,500 applicants and represent more than one hundred universities and research institutions from across the world.

The Institute for Advanced Study brings together junior and senior scholars of the highest level. It "exists to encourage and support curiosity-driven research in the sciences and humanities -- the original, often speculative thinking that produces advances in knowledge that change the way we understand the world," notes the organization. Past permanent faculty have included Albert Einstein, and distinguished scientists and scholars such as Kurt Gödel, J. Robert Oppenheimer, and Clifford Geertz. Past members have included Nobel laureates and world-renowned scholars such as Niels Bohr, Thomas Kuhn, John Rawls, and Abdus Salam.

Carl A. Huffman, research professor and senior professor of classical studies at DePauw, was awarded a visitorship in the School of Historical Studies at the Institute for Advanced Study for spring 2009.

Learn more here.

Professor Fancy, who joined the DePauw faculty in 2006, teaches Middle East/Comparative History. His research interests are in pre-1500 science and medicine, and intellectual history. The author of Science and Religion in Mamluk Egypt: Ibn al-Nafis, Pulmonary Transit and Bodily Resurrection, Fancy holds a B.A. from Knox College and a Ph.D. in history and philosophy of science from University of Notre Dame.