Button Menu

Sarah Gerkensmeyer '01 is Finalist for Indiana Authors Award

Sarah Gerkensmeyer '01 is Finalist for Indiana Authors Award

July 14, 2016

Sarah Gerkensmeyer, a 2001 graduate of DePauw University, is one of three finalists for the 2016 Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award for "Emerging Author." The award and its $5,000 prize goes to a writer who has published no more than two books during his or her lifetime.  The winner will be named at an awards dinner on October 29.

Gerkensmeyer's first story collection What You Are Now Enjoying, "was selected by Stewart O'Nan as winner of the Autumn House Press Fiction Prize, longlisted for the 2013 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, and chosen as winner of Late Night Library’s Debut-litzer Prize," notes today's announcement. "A Pushcart Prize nominee for both fiction and poetry and a finalist for the Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Short Fiction and the Italo Calvino Prize for Fabulist Fiction, Gerkensmeyer’s stories and poetry have appeared in American Short Fiction, Guernica, The Massachusetts Review, Hayden's Ferry Review, B O D Y, Hobart, and Cream City Review, among others. Her story “Ramona” was featured in a Huffington Post piece on flash fiction and also chosen for the 2014 Best of the Net Anthology. Gerkensmeyer was the 2012-13 Pen Parentis Fellow."

An English (writing) major at DePauw, Sarah E. Gerkensmeyer went on to graduate from Cornell University's M.F.A. program. 

The Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award is a program of the Indianapolis Public Library Foundation and is funded through the generosity of the Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.  Previous winners include Susan Neville '73Greg Schwipps '95 and Micah Ling '03.

Read more here.