Show More

Faculty Awards and Fellowships

Every year, DePauw University honors members of the faculty with a variety of awards for significant achievement and exceptional dedication in teaching, scholarly and creative work, and service to the University.


Cassel Grubb University Professor of Music

In April 1999, Trustee Gary P. Drew '61 and his wife Sandra Aldrich Drew '62, who was a piano major and voice minor in the School of Music, established an endowment for the Cassel Grubb University Professor of Music. This professorship honors emeritus professor Cassel Grubb who served as Professor of Music and Director of the School of Music for many years. He was a member of the faculty from 1949 to 1989. The recipient for 2014-2019 is C. Eric Edberg, Professor of Creative and Performing Arts.

Tenzer Family University Professor in Instructional Technology

The Tenzer Family University Professorship is to be awarded to a faculty member who has been exemplary in using information technology in enhancing teaching and student learning and who will devote time during the term of the professorship to working with faculty colleagues to enhance their use of instructional technologies.  The recipient for 2015-2019 is Harry Brown, Professor of English.

G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service

Established in 2009, the Oxnam Award is presented in recognition of significant contributions to either the University, academic professional world, the local Greencastle community or to the wider arena of civic contributions through social outreach or social justice. The award is named for DePauw's thirteenth president (1928-1936). The award was presented in 2016 to Jeanette Pope, Associate Professor of Geosciences and Faculty Sustainability Coordinator. Click for a Summary List of recipients.

Mr. & Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award

Since 1988, the Tucker award has been made annually by the President of the University to a senior member of the faculty to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, to teaching excellence, to their chosen disciplines, and to University service. A $10,000 stipend accompanies the award. The award was presented to Barbara Steinson, Professor of History, in 2016. Click for a Summary List of recipients.

Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award

Established in 1981, the Minar Award is presented in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies. The award was presented in 2016 to Matthew Oware, Associate Professor and Chair of Sociology and Anthropology. Click for a Summary List of recipients.

Johnson Family University Professorship

University Professorships are awarded for sustained excellence in teaching, professional development and service. A minimum of 10 years of service is required for consideration for a first review; and at least eight years must have elapsed since a first award before a second award may be offered. Anne Harris, Professor of Art and Art History, is the recipient for 2014-2018.

Carolyn T. Jones Summer Stipend

This award is given to a project for curricular development. Lydia Marshall, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, was presented the award for Summer 2017.

Fisher Fellowship

One faculty member per academic year may receive the designation of "Fisher Fellow." The Fellow is granted a one-semester paid leave to complete a major scholarly, creative, teaching, or curricular project. The Fellow also receives a $5,000 stipend and $1,000 for project expenses. David Alvarez, Associate Professor of English, was awarded the honor for 2016-17.

Faculty Fellowships

The Faculty Fellowship program is designed to stimulate and facilitate projects by faculty members to improve their teaching, to advance their scholarly and creative work, to enhance the University's academic programs, and to realize institutional goals.  Click for a list of recipients and projects: