Button Menu


DePauw Jazz Festival 2022

The DePauw Jazz Festival is an annual gathering of students and educators who wish to further their knowledge of jazz, create a stronger and more informed community of jazz musicians, and share in the joy of music making and education. This event gives high school jazz bands an opportunity to perform in front of an audience and highly experienced adjudicators, who work directly with each band and band director on stage immediately following their performance. Bands will work directly with clinicians where questions are welcomed and encouraged. The DePauw Jazz Festival will feature clinics and demonstrations on subjects such as articulation, dynamics, tuning, improvisation, equipment, pedagogy, and more.


Terell Stafford


The DePauw Jazz Festival Orchestra

Friday, November 18, 2022


The DePauw School of Music welcomes all interested high school jazz ensembles to participate in the Annual DePauw Jazz Festival. As a registered participant, each group will receive feedback for their high school ensemble and be eligible to participate in master classes with the band members of the DePauw Jazz Festival Orchestra.

Registration is available on a first-come-first-served basis. We recommend registering early to ensure space for your group. Registration is free for this year's festival.

Register Now!


High School Band Clinics
Friday, Nov. 18 • 8:30 am-3 pm • Rooms TBD

Master Classes with members of The DePauw Jazz Festival Orchestra
Friday, Nov. 18 • 3:30 pm • Rooms TBD

DePauw University Jazz Ensemble Clinic
Friday, Nov. 18 • 4:30 pm • Moore Theatre

DePauw University Jazz Ensemble Concert, featuring Sophie Faught and Jim White
Friday, Nov. 18 • 5:15 pm • Moore Theatre

Green Guest Artist Concert: Terell Stafford with The DePauw Jazz Festival Orchestra
Friday, Nov. 18 • 7:30 pm • Kresge Auditorium

Terell Stafford

Terell Stafford, acclaimed trumpet player based in New York, has been hailed as “one of the great players of our time, a fabulous trumpet player” by piano legend McCoy Tyner. Stafford is recognized as an incredibly gifted and versatile player, he combines a deep love of melody with his own brand of spirited and adventurous lyricism. Stafford’s exceptionally expressive and well defined musical talent allows him to dance in and around the rich trumpet tradition of his predecessors while making his own inroads.

Since the mid-1990’s, Stafford has performed with groups such as Benny Golson’s Sextet, McCoy Tyner’s Sextet, Kenny Barron Quintet, Frank Wess Quintet, Jimmy Heath Quintet and Big Band, Jon Faddis Jazz Orchestra, Carnegie Hall Jazz Band and Dizzy Gillespie All-Star Alumni Band. Stafford with the HamiltonClayton Jazz Orchestra, performed on Diana Krall’s GRAMMY nominated From this Moment On (2006). John Clayton invited Stafford to perform with the Clayton Brothers Quintet and Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra. Stafford is a member of the Vanguard Jazz Orchestra and they were awarded a GRAMMY in 2009 for Best Large Ensemble, Live at the Village Vanguard. Stafford can be heard on over 130 albums including his own, BrotherLee Love, Celebrating Lee Morgan, which received a 47th Annual NAACP Image Award nomination. His most recent album, Family Feeling, is a BCM&D release.

DePauw Jazz Festival Orchestra

This year’s festival marks the debut of the DePauw Jazz Festival Orchestra. The orchestra consists of professionals and educators from across the country whose work has included performances with Count Basie, Harry Connick Jr., Dizzy Gillespie, Jazz at Lincoln Center, Wynton Marsalis, Woody Herman, Maynard Ferguson, Randy Brecker, Jerry Bergonzi, Dick Oatts, Joey DeFranesco, and many others. In addition, members of the orchestra have taught at top tier institutions throughout the United States and across the world.






Roger Ingram

Dave Katz

Mark Buselli

Derrick Gardiner


Andy Baker

Dave Miller

Freddie Mendoza

John Blane

Kirby Fellis

Will Campbell

Jacob Duncan

Chris McGuire

Sophie Faught

Tom Walsh

Steve Snyder, piano

Sandy Williams, guitar

Jesse Wittman, bass

Jim White, drums


Activities are made possible in part by Arts Illiana, and the Indiana Arts Commission, which receives support from the State of Indiana and the National Endowment for the Arts. 

Indiana Arts Commission logoPutnam County logo