Show More

President’s Cabinet

President’s Office

Cindy Babington Chief of Staff (765) 658-4088 Administration Building

Born in Minnesota, but raised in Indiana, Cindy Babington has been around liberal arts colleges nearly her whole life. Raised by a faculty member who taught at Wabash College, attending Knox College and working at DePauw for the more than 20 years has given her a unique perspective on the value of the liberal arts.

Renee Madison Senior Advisor to the President for Diversity and Compliance (765) 658-4914 Administration Building

Renee Madison joined DePauw University in the fall of 2014 and serves as Senior Advisor to the President for Diversity and Compliance and Title IX Coordinator.

Elizabeth A. (Betsy) Demmings Executive Assistant to the President (765) 658-4221 Administration Building

Betsy Koenig Demmings ’75, who majored in psychology, is the Executive Assistant to the President, a position she has held since 2000 during terms of three chief executives. She oversees the daily business of the President’s office, which requires extensive liaising with DePauw’s many constituencies, both internal and external.

Academic Affairs

Anne Harris Vice President for Academic Affairs and Johnson Family University Professor of Art and Art History (765) 658-4359 Olin Building 148

Anne F. Harris received a Bachelor of Arts in Art History and Classical Languages from Agnes Scott College in 1991, and a Ph.D. in Art History from the University of Chicago in 1999. She started teaching at DePauw in the Art and Art History department, and the Women's Studies and Honor Scholar programs, working through ideas and issues such as "Gender and Medieval Art," "Stolen! Art Theft and Western Culture," and "Race and Difference in Medieval Art" with students.

Carol L. Smith Chief Information Officer (765) 658-4287 Julian Center 132

Carol Smith is the Chief Information Officer at DePauw University where she leads IT strategic planning and efforts to provide innovative technology resources and services that support the mission and vision of the University.

Finance and Administration

Brad Kelsheimer Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration (765) 658-4161 Administration Building

Brad A. Kelsheimer joined the University in May of 2009. Kelsheimer is responsible for various finance and administrative functions of the University, including endowment management, accounting, treasury, human resources, capital construction, facility operations, risk management and business operations.

Mariel Wilderson Director of Communications (765) 658-4228 101 E Seminary

Mariel Wilderson grew up on the north side of Indianapolis. She studied journalism concentrated in graphic design as well as sociology at Indiana University. She later earned a Master of Public Affairs in Nonprofit Management and a Master of Arts in Philanthropy from Indiana University.

Development and Alumni Engagement

Melanie Norton Vice President for Development and Alumni Engagement (765) 658-4212 Charter House

Melanie Norton is the Vice President for Development and Alumni Engagement at DePauw University where she leads the $300 million campaign and fundraising efforts for the University and oversees a staff of 40 full-time development an alumni professionals.

Student Academic Life

Alan Hill Vice President for Student Academic Life and Dean of Experiential Learning (765) 658-4199 Student Union

Alan P. Hill, a 1981 graduate of DePauw serves as Vice President for Student Academic Life and Dean of Experiential Learning, and re-joined the DePauw administration in August 2016.

Dave Berque Associate Vice President for Student Academic Life and Dean of Academic Life and Herrick E.H. Greenleaf Professor of Computer Science (765) 658-4735 Student Union 210

Dave Berque earned a B.A. from Haverford College in 1985 and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Computer science from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1987 and 1991 respectively. After completing his graduate work, Berque taught Computer Science as a visiting faculty member at Colgate University for a year before joining the DePauw faculty.