Student Musicians Receive Intercollegiate Distinction

Student Musicians Receive Intercollegiate Distinction

January 29, 2014

Five DePauw University student musicians -- Daniel Hickey (clarinet), Robert Martens MEC 356(oboe), William Nicholas (tuba), Eleanor Price (flute) and Carly Tebelman (percussion) -- participated as members of the select 2014 Indiana Intercollegiate Honor Band. College music directors, from around the state, are invited to select up to 10 students they feel would qualify for this distinguished ensemble of university and college music students, which convenes every two years.

Craig Paré, conductor of the DePauw University Band, nominated the five students chosen to participate in the intensive two-day rehearsal, leading to the concert performance that took place during the 2014 Indiana Music Educators Association Professional Development Conference in Fort Wayne, Indiana, last weekend (January 23–25).

“Eleanor, Robert, Dan, Will and Carly represent the best of DePauw University and the School of Music,” states Paré. “Making music alongside peers from most every Indiana college and university is a worthy experience for our best DePauw musicians -- one that each took full advantage of during their two days of working together. Not only did their strong musicianship and desire to perform distinguish them, I can also say that each DePauw musician was selected, through the seating audition process, as principals of their sections. I couldn’t have been more proud of them.” (photo, l-r: Tebelman, Hickey, Nicholas, guest conductor Dr. Kevin Sedatole, Price, Martens and Paré.)

“I loved the efficiency of the rehearsals,” says Tebelman, “and working with Dr. Sedatole was also really great. Watching my fellow DePauw musicians earn and take on principal roles in the Intercollegiate Honor Band was a really prideful moment for me. It’s one thing to play with my peers in the DePauw ensembles,” adds the senior LGL 8051percussionist, “but to see them stepping up as members of a premiere ensemble, full of outstanding musicians from across the state, allowed me to appreciate their performance abilities at an altogether higher level.”

The guest conductor for this year’s Intercollegiate Band was Kevin Sedatole, director of bands at Michigan State University. The Indiana College Band Directors Association, a state affiliate of the College Band Directors National Association, sponsors the ensemble.