Alumni Are Invited to Honor a Favorite Professor

Alumni Are Invited to Honor a Favorite Professor

September 26, 2002

September 26, 2002, Greencastle, Ind. - One of the things that alumni consistently remark about is how a particular professor had a significant impact on them during their four years at DePauw -– and, in many cases, in their lives following DePauw. Now alumni have an opportunity to recognize a faculty member's lasting impact by nominating the faculty member to have an endowed chair named in his or her honor.

Alumni nominations are sought this year for deceased faculty in three departments: computer science, classical studies and religious studies (because there are no deceased computer science faculty members, the University will accept nominations of deceased faculty members in the disciplines of mathematics and applied science for the chair in computer science).

Through the generosity of Timothy H. and Sharon (Williams '58) Ubben '58 (photo at right), an endowment was established in 2000 in order to support 15 faculty chairs to honor deceased professors who enriched the University and its students over the years. As desired by the Ubbens, each of the chairs will be named for a deceased faculty member who distinguished himself or herself in maintaining high standards and effective teaching and service to the department or discipline.

In the past two years, Ubben Chairs have been named for A.W. Crandall, history; Hiram L. Jome, economics; Percy L. Julian '20 in honor of Donald J. Cook, chemistry; Laurel H. Turk, modern languages; Winona H. Welch, biology; and A. Reid Winsey, art. All of these professors touched the lives of many students and alumni through the years.

If you would like to nominate a favorite professor for the honor of having a faculty chair named in his or her honor, submit your nomination via e-mail by clicking here.