Alumni: Nominate a Favorite Professor for Ubben Chairs

Alumni: Nominate a Favorite Professor for Ubben Chairs

October 12, 2004

October 12, 2004, Greencastle, Ind. - DePauw University plans to honor deceased faculty members as Ubben Chairs in three departments this year: English, geosciences and modern languages. Alumni can nominate a favorite professor to have an endowed chair named in his or her honor in those disciplines.

In 2000, Timothy H. and Sharon (Williams ’58) Ubben ’58 (photo below right), established an endowment in order to support 15 faculty chairs to recognize deceased professors who enriched the University and its students over the years. As desired by the Ubbens, each of the chairs will be named for a deceased faculty member who distinguished himself or herself in maintaining high standards andeffective teaching and service to the department or discipline.

Thus far, Ubben Chairs have been named for Walter E. Bundy, religious studies; A.W. Crandall, history; Edward Myers Dolan, anthropology; Herrick H. Greenleaf, mathematics; Paul B. Kissinger, physics and astronomy; Hiram L. Jome, economics; Percy L. Julian ’20 in honor of Donald J. Cook, chemistry; Edwin L. Minar Jr., classical studies; Laurel H. Turk, modern languages; Kenneth S. Wagoner, psychology; Winona H. Welch, biology; and A. Reid Winsey, art.

If you would like to nominate a favorite professor to be honored with an Ubben Chair, submit your nomination to Lisa Hollander, vice president for development and alumni relations, by clicking here