Button Menu

38 DePauw Student-Athletes Inducted Into Chi Alpha Sigma

38 DePauw Student-Athletes Inducted Into Chi Alpha Sigma

April 10, 2013

Greencastle, Ind. – In conjunction with the NCAA’s Division III Week, Theodore Katula Director of Athletics Stevie Baker-Watson welcomed the newest members to Chi Alpha Sigma at an induction ceremony at the DePauw Memorial Student Union Building on April 8. In all, 38 DePauw student-athletes were inducted into this prestigious honor society. (pictured are all current DePauw student-athlete inductees who were present at this year's ceremony)

Former DePauw head football coach Nick Mourouzis founded the National College Athlete Honor Society, or Chi Alpha Sigma, in Greencastle, Ind., on May 17, 1996. Mourouzis created the organization to bring recognition to deserving student-athletes, their families, teams, athletic departments and colleges.

Chi Alpha Sigma induction requires that a student-athlete reach junior academic status, achieve a minimum 3.4 cumulative grade point average at the time of selection and earn a varsity letter in his/her respective sport.

Nearly 250 colleges and universities make up Chi Alpha Sigma, representing over 40 states. DePauw, as the founding University, is designated as the Alpha Chapter.

In all, 18 different athletic squads were represented in Monday night’s festivities. The women’s track and field and men’s lacrosse team led the way with four inductees apiece, while the women’s basketball, women’s cross country, football and women’s tennis programs each welcomed a triumvirate of their student-athletes to the fraternity.

The baseball, men’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming and diving, men’s tennis and men’s track and field teams each inducted a pair while men’s basketball, field hockey, men’s and women’s golf, women’s soccer and women’s swimming and diving rounded out the inductee list adding a single member of their team this year.

To find additional information on Chi Alpha Sigma, please visit them at www.ncahs.org.

For more information on the DePauw Athletics, follow DePauw on Twitter (@DePauwAthletics) or like them on Facebook (www.facebook.com/DePauwAthletics).

DePauw's 2013 Chi Alpha Sigma INductEES
Laura Elizabeth Arvin Sr. Indianapolis, Ind./Scecina Memorial Women’s Cross Country
Jillian Cynthia Balser Sr. Brentwood, Tenn./Brentwood Academy Women’s Track and Field
Brendan James Bolander Jr. Carmel, Ind./Brebeuf Jesuit Baseball
Jack Edward Burgeson Jr. Saint Louis Park, Minn./Saint Louis Park Men’s Swimming and Diving
Logan Patrick Cash Jr. Frankfort, Ky./Lexington Catholic Men’s Soccer
Mark Ernest Clevenger Jr. Louisville, Ky./Atherton Football
Joseph Hart Collins Jr. Evanston, Ill./Evanston Township Men’s Tennis
Ashley Mae Conard Jr. Indianapolis, Ind./University High Women’s Track and Field
Elizabeth Rose Conley Jr. Portage, Ind./Andrean Women’s Cross Country
Kyle Alexander Coronel Jr. Prospect, Ky./St. Xaver Men’s Tennis
Cody Ray Crook Sr. Beech Grove, Ind./Beech Grove Football
Megan Walsh Crowley Jr. Barrington, Ill./Barrington Women’s Tennis
Chelsea Johanna Keir Cutler Jr. Victoria, B.C./Mt. Douglas Secondary Field Hockey
Caroline Susanne Emhardt Jr. Carmel, Ind./Park Tudor Women’s Tennis
Paige Nichols Fehr Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio/Saint Ursula Academy Women’s Soccer
David Wayne Garrett Sr. Indianapolis, Ind./Brebeuf Jesuit Men’s Track and Field
Alexandria Leigh Gasaway Jr. Crawfordsville, Ind./Crawfordsville Women’s Basketball
John Randall Glerum Sr. Kenilworth, Ill./Loyola Academy Men’s Lacrosse
Paige Whitney Gooch Jr. Fort Mitchell, Ky./Beechwood Women’s Golf
Ashley Nicole Guevara Jr. Verona, Ky./Walton Verona Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field
Benjamin Jacob Hazen Jr. Fort Wayne, Ind./Homestead Men’s Soccer/Men’s Track and Field
Patrick George Herrod Sr. Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton Men’s Golf
Thomas Cary Hiller Jr. Whitefish Bay, Wis./Whitefish Bay Men’s Swimming and Diving
Nicole Marie Inman Jr. Indianapolis, Ind./International Women’s Track and Field
Samuel Bradley Johnson Jr. Columbus, Ohio/Bexley Men’s Lacrosse
Kathleen Alexandra Kay Jr. Effingham, Ill./Saint Anthony Women’s Tennis
Allison Blair Kirby Jr. Leawood, Kan./Shawnee Mission East Women’s Swimming and Diving
Lauren Catherine Krumwiede Jr. Watseka, Ill./Watseka Community Softball
Megan Lynne Landahl Jr. Brookfield, Ill./Riverside-Brookfield Softball
Nicholas Lawrence Lucca Sr. Colorado Springs, Colo./St. Mary’s Men’s Lacrosse
Kyle Reece Mackey Jr. Danville, Ind./Danville Men’s Track and Field
Eric Andrew Malm Jr. McCordsville, Ind./Hamilton Southeastern Football
Trina Magno Manalo Jr. Fort Wayne, Ind./Bishop Dwenger Women’s Track and Field
Erin Nicole McGinnis Jr. Normal, Ill./Normal Community West Women’s Basketball
Ann Elizabeth Sarkisian Jr. Valparasio, Ind./Valparaiso Women’s Basketball
Austin Christopher Schile Sr. Topeka, Kan./Washburn Rural Men’s Lacrosse
Jeffrey David Sustarsic Jr. Liberty, Ind./Union County Men’s Basketball
Jared Michael Timmer Jr. McCordsville, Ind./Hamilton Southeastern Baseball