Show More


BASE Research

The Balloon Assisted Stratospheric Experiments (BASE) project is operated under the Physics & Astronomy Department at DePauw University with Dr. Howard Brooks.

Presently, the program uses weather balloons to carry scientific experiments into the stratosphere. The experiments are designed by DePauw students and by students at various schools in West Central Indiana. The communications and support system was purchased from StratoStar Systems.

BASE 88 was flown on 8 June 2016 from the Julian Science Center as part of the Math-Science Partnership Workshop. Premature balloon failure resulted in a maximum altitude of 69,000 feet.  Easy recovery in pasture northwest of Hayden, IN.

BASE 89 was flown on 18 June 2016 from the Great Plains Superlaunch at Pecan Plantation, Texas. Used a very old balloon that failed at 19,000 feet.  Recovered in a cattle pasture with no complications.

Upcoming flights include:

BASE 90 on 6 August 2016 at 7:45 am CDT (1245 UTC) from SpaceJam 10 with the Boy Scouts in Rantoul, Illinois.  Will use WB9SA-11 as payload call sign.

Tracking will be available over the internet using the following links:

www.aprs.fi/WB9SA-11

map.findu.com/WB9SA-11

Immediately after releasing BASE 90, a small mylar party balloon carrying 12.2 gram tracker from Bill WB8ELK will be released.  The call sign for this balloon will be W9YJ-12This balloon may float at a tropospheric altitude for many days.

 

www.aprs.fi/W9YJ-12

 

map.findu.com/W9YJ-12


BASE 91 on 10 September 2016 at 12:15 pm EDT (1615 UTC) from Putnam County Airport Appreciation Days, Greencastle

Resources

 

Media Gallery