Show More

Ubben Lecture Series

The Timothy and Sharon Ubben Lecture Series brings the world's leaders to DePauw's campus.

A notable list of eminent individuals from a variety of backgrounds — including politicians, scientists, journalists, artists and human rights activists — have presented 109 Ubben Lectures since the series began in 1986 through a gift from 1958 graduates Tim and Sharon Ubben. All of the programs are free and open to the public.

Past speakers have included Bill Clinton, Margaret Thatcher, Jimmy Kimmel, Jane Goodall, Elie Wiesel, David Cameron, Leslie Odom Jr., Tony Blair, Benazir Bhutto, Jesse Jackson, Mikhail Gorbachev and Spike Lee.

The first Ubben Lecturer of the 2017-18 academic year was presented by Malala Yousafzai, the youngest-ever recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, on September 4.  Bill Rasmussen, the 1954 DePauw graduate who founded ESPN, spoke Wednesday, November 8, as part of a week-long residency at his alma mater.

On February 28, 2018, Dr. David Hanson -- founder, CEO and chief designer of Hong Kong-based Hanson Robotics -- will be joined by his creation, the world's first artificial intelligence-fueled android, Sophia. The two will deliver a speech, take questions from the audience, and offer insights into the world of tomorrow that we're already entering today.

Recent Speakers 

A list of DePauw's most recent Ubben Lecturers is available below, and a roster of all speakers is available in the Ubben Lecture Archives. Most include summaries and video links.

Bill Rasmussen '54

Founder of ESPN, Entrepreneur

- November 08, 2017

Read More

Malala Yousafzai

Nobel Peace Prize Recipient

- September 04, 2017

Read More

David Cameron

Former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

- December 08, 2016

Read More

Vernon E. Jordan Jr. '57

Civil Rights Legend & Presidential Adviser

- October 29, 2016

Read More

Leslie Odom Jr.

Tony Award-Winning Hamilton Actor

- September 20, 2016

Read More

Arne Duncan

Former US Secretary of Education

- April 21, 2016

Read More