Button Menu

McKim Observatory Open House

Everyone is welcome at McKim Observatory Open House Events!

The next open house is Friday, January 27 at 7:00pm

In the event of total cloud cover (or strong wind!) the open house will be cancelled. 

The Clark 9.53 inch refactor will be open for viewing the planets, moon, star clusters, nebulae and galaxies.  The featured objects will depend on the date and sky conditions.  In good sky conditions we will also set up Celestron telescopes on the lawn around the observatory.

Please note that while McKim is well equipped for observing the sky, it lacks the modern convenience of a restroom. Also note that evening weather tends to be chilly, and you will enjoy your visit to McKim more if you dress warmly.

We are happy to give special tours to groups.  To arrange a visit to McKim, call the Department of Physics and Astronomy (765-658-4654), Dr. Mary Kertzman (765-658-4647), or Dr. Howard Brooks (765-658-4653).

 

Picture of McKim Observatory

Schedule of Open Houses:

The status of each open house will be updated by 4:00 PM Friday of that week.  Check back for the latest information regarding cancellations.


2022-23 Open House Schedule

Fri, Sep 23 9:00 - 10:30 pm (CANCELLED) -- Family Weekend
Fri, Oct 7 8:30 - 10:00 pm (CANCELLED) -- Old Gold Weekend
Fri, Oct 28 8:00 - 10:00 pm  
Fri, Nov 4   8:00 - 10:00 pm  
Fri, Nov 18 7:00 - 9:00 pm (CANCELLED)
Fri, Dec 2 7:00 - 9:00 pm (CANCELLED) 
Fri, Jan 13 7:00 - 9:00 pm (CANCELLED) 
Fri, Jan 27 7:00 - 9:00 pm  
Fri, Feb 10 7:30 - 9:30 pm  
Fri, Feb 24  7:30 - 9:30 pm  
Fri, Mar 3 7:30 - 9:30 pm  
Fri, Mar 10 8:00 - 9:30 pm  
Fri, Mar 31 9:00 - 10:00 pm  
Fri, Apr 28 9:30 - 10:30 pm  

 

Directions to McKim:

The address for McKim is DePauw Avenue, Greencastle 46135. It is located just north of Franklin Avenue a couple of blocks west of Kroger.

Maps: For direction put in "DePauw Avenue, Greencastle 46135"

PDF Map to McKim Observatory