Button Menu

Faculty Excellence Celebrated with Presentation of Tucker, Minar, and Oxnam Awards

Faculty Excellence Celebrated with Presentation of Tucker, Minar, and Oxnam Awards

May 12, 2017

Sheryl Tremblay, professor of communication and theatre at DePauw University, is the 2017 recipient of the Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award.

Presented annually by the president of the University to one or more senior members of the faculty since 1988, the Tucker Award is designed to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, teaching excellence, their chosen disciplines, and service to the University. (at right: Prof. Tremblay with DePauw President D. Mark McCoy tonight)

A member of the DePauw faculty since 1988, Dr. Tremblay teaches Mass Media Law, International Media and Digital Storytelling, Gender and Communication, and Mass Media and Modern Society, among other courses.

Also at this evening's faculty recognition program, hosted by President D. Mark McCoy at The Elms, Pascal J. Lafontant, associate professor of biology, was presented with the Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award. Established in 1981, the Minar Award EAST COLLEGE TOWER hdris presented in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement by a faculty member and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies.

Andrea E. Sununu, professor of English, was announced as the recipient of the G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service. Named after DePauw's thirteenth president (1928-1936), the award was created in 2009 by a gift from Neal B. Abraham, who served as DePauw's executive vice president, vice president for academic affairs and professor of physics from 1998 to 2009, and his wife, Donna L. Wiley.

The evening's festivities included recognition of DePauw faculty members who are retiring at the conclusion of the current academic year: Rex A. Call, director of sports medicine with rank of associate professor of kinesiology; and S. Page Cotton, professor of kinesiology and Theodore Katula Director of Athletics and Director of Recreational Sports.