Button Menu

Musicians Earn Spots with Intercollegiate Honor Band

Musicians Earn Spots with Intercollegiate Honor Band

December 17, 2001

December 17, 2001, Greencastle, Ind. - Nine DePauw University Band members have been accepted to participate in the Indiana Intercollegiate Band, a select ensemble that will meet during the 2002 Indiana Music Educators Association convention, January 17-19, 2002.

Nominated for this ensemble by Dr. Craig Paré, director of university bands, the students will rehearse and perform next to students from fourteen other Indiana colleges and universities, including Anderson University, Indiana University, Indiana State University, Butler University, Ball State University, and Valparaiso University.

They are:

  • David Barbick, alto saxophoneEAST COLLEGE TOWER
  • Jo Burian, horn
  • Kelsie Gray, trumpet
  • Erin Johnson, bassoon
  • Gary Carroll, clarinet
  • Jim Sudano, trombone
  • Matt Loftspring, bass clarinet
  • Aleks Gylys, percussion
  • Aaron Gamble, tuba

"Our students will have the rare opportunity to study college-level literature with an ensemble made up of their peers from a variety of university music programs", stated Paré. "It was a pleasure to nominate these fine musicians, and I am certain that their experiences, a compact schedule that will feature four rehearsals and a performance in a two-day period, will be both challenging and rewarding. I am proud of these young musicians, and their acceptance and participation in this select group is a testament to the quality of our DePauw students and the teaching that takes place here on campus. All of DePauw can Musical notesbe proud of this accomplishment."

The clinician for this year's Intercollegiate Band is Don Wilcox, director of bands at West Virginia University. The ensemble is sponsored by the Indiana College Band Directors Association, a state affiliate of the College Band Directors National Association.

For more information, contact Craig Paré via e-mail by clicking here or by calling (765) 658-4385.