Button Menu

DePauw Selected to Host Division III Softball Regional

DePauw Selected to Host Division III Softball Regional

April 15, 2010

dpusbfield2.jpgApril 15, 2010, Greencastle, Ind. —  DePauw University has been selected as one of eight regional sites for the 2010 NCAA Division III Softball Championship in an announcement made by the Division III Softball Committee.

DePauw will host either a six- or eight-ream regional (May 14-17 or May 13-17). The 60-team bracket is scheduled to be released on Monday, May 10.

The winner of the double-elimination regional will advance to the Division III Finals hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, May 21-25, at Carson Park in Eau Claire, Wis.

The regional Web site is located here and the finals site is also posted.

DePauw hosted the opening round of the 2009 Championship with Ohio Northern defeating DePauw, 4-1, in an elimination game for both teams.

Six other regional sites were also announced with the last determined on May 10. The other sites include: Christopher Newport University (Newport News, Va.), Ithaca College (Ithaca, N.Y.), Rhode Island College (Providence, R.I.), Simpson College (Indianola, Iowa), Wellesley College (Wellesley, Mass.) and University of Wisconsin, Whitewater (Whitewater, Wis.).

Follow DePauw Athletics on Twitter  | Become a Fan of DePauw Athletics on Facebook