Button Menu

Faculty Awards and Fellowships

Every year, DePauw University honors members of the faculty with a variety of awards for significant achievement and exceptional dedication in teaching, scholarly and creative work, and service to the University.

Distinguished University Professors

  • Max Moreno, Hampton and Esther Boswell Distinguished University Professorship 

Cassel Grubb University Professor of Music

In April 1999, Trustee Gary P. Drew '61 and his wife Sandra Aldrich Drew '62, who was a piano major and voice minor in the School of Music, established an endowment for the Cassel Grubb University Professor of Music. This professorship honors emeritus professor Cassel Grubb who served as Professor of Music and Director of the School of Music for many years. He was a member of the faculty from 1949 to 1989. The most recent recipient of this award is DePauw School of Music's Leonard (Lennie) Foy, Professor of Trumpet.

Johnson Family University Professorship 

Johnson Family University Professorships are awarded for sustained excellence in teaching, professional development and service. A minimum of 10 years of service is required for consideration for a first review; and at least eight years must have elapsed since a first award before a second award may be offered. In 2022, this four-year award was bestowed to Smita Rahman, Associate Professor of Political Science.

Carolyn T. Jones Summer Stipend

This award is given to a project for curricular development. Melanie Finney, Professor of Communication and Theatre, was presented the award for Summer 2021.

Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award

Established in 1981, the Minar Award is presented in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies. The award was presented in 2023 to Pedar Foss, Professor of Classical Studies and Chair of the Classical Studies Department. Click for a Summary List of previous recipients.

G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service

Established in 2009, the Oxnam Award is presented in recognition of significant contributions to either the University, academic professional world, the local Greencastle community or to the wider arena of civic contributions through social outreach or social justice. The award is named for DePauw's thirteenth president (1928-1936). The award was presented in 2023 to Karin Wimbley, Associate Professor of English. Click for a Summary List of previous recipients.

United Methodist Exemplary Teaching Award Description

Presented jointly by the University and the General Board of Higher Education of the United Methodist Church through a gift from 1942 DePauw University graduates George and Virginia Crane, the award recognizes faculty members who exemplify excellence in teaching; civility and concern for students and colleagues; commitment to value-centered education; and service to students, the institution and the community. The award was presented in 2023 to Leigh-Anne Goins, Assistant Professor of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. Click for a Summary List of previous recipients.

Joseph Percival “Perk” Allen III University Professorship

The Perk Allen University Professorship was established with gifts from the family, friends and former students of Perk Allen, a member of the economics faculty from 1957 until his retirement in 1975. The award was most recently awarded to Jeffrey M. Gropp, Professor of Economics and Management and Director of the Management Fellows Program.

Tenzer Family University Professor in Instructional Technology

The Tenzer Family University Professorship is to be awarded to a faculty member who has been exemplary in using information technology in enhancing teaching and student learning and who will devote time during the term of the professorship to working with faculty colleagues to enhance their use of instructional technologies.  The most recent recipient of this four-year award is Hiroko M. Chiba (beginning July 2019), Professor of Asian Studies.

Mr. & Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award 

Since 1988, the Tucker award has been made annually by the President of the University to a senior member of the faculty to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, to teaching excellence, to their chosen disciplines, and to University service. A $10,000 stipend accompanies the award. The award was presented in 2023 to Michele Villinski, Professor of Economics and Management.  Click for a Summary List of previous recipients.

Fisher Fellowship

One faculty member per academic year may receive the designation of "Fisher Fellow." The Fellow is granted a one-semester paid leave to complete a major scholarly, creative, teaching, or curricular project. The Fellow also receives a $5,000 stipend and $1,000 for project expenses. The Fisher Fellow for 2022-2023 is Smita Rahman, Associate Professor of Political Science and Chair of the Political Science Department.

Faculty Fellowships

The Faculty Fellowship program is designed to stimulate and facilitate projects by faculty members to improve their teaching, to advance their scholarly and creative work, to enhance the University's academic programs, and to realize institutional goals.  Click for a list of recipients and projects: