Show More

Alliance for Minority Participation in Science, Engineering to Hold Inaugural Conference at DePauw

September 23, 1991

September 23, 1991, Greencastle, Ind. - Five Indiana colleges, five historically black colleges from around the country, and three Indianapolis public school corporations will hold the inaugural conference of the Alliance for Minority Participation in Science and Engineering on October 2 and 3 at DePauw University here and on October 4 at Wabash College.

The conference is titled "The Alliance: Creating a New Vision of Science Education." Goals of the Alliance include: improve recruitment and retention of minorities in higher education, highlight successful existing programs, develop cooperative programs with high schools, and establish long-term relationships among members.

Participating in the Alliance are DePauw, Wabash, Earlham College, Manchester College and Indiana University-Purdue University at EAST COLLEGE TOWER hdrIndianapolis; the black colleges, Alcorn State University, Bennett College, Bethune-Cookman College, Oakwood College and Shaw University; and the Beech Grove, Lawrence Township and Indianapolis Public School systems.

The conference will include small-group working sessions focusing on successful first-year classes in science and mathematics, models of collaborative research, and institutional collaborations. The third day of the conference will deal with public school-college issues. A number of the Alliance institutions already have substantive collaborative relationships with school corporations.

Keynote speaker will be Sheila Tobias, a noted commentator on science education from the University of Arizona. Elof Carlson, professor of biochemistry at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, will serve as the conference resource person.