Button Menu

Prof. Jason Fuller Receives Exemplary Teaching Award

Prof. Jason Fuller Receives Exemplary Teaching Award

May 21, 2017

Jason Fuller, associate professor of religious studies at DePauw University, is the recipient of the 2016-17 Exemplary Teaching Award. Presented by the General Board of Higher Education of the United Methodist Church through a gift from 1942 DePauw University graduates George and Virginia Crane, the award recognizes faculty members who exemplify excellence in teaching; civility and concern for students and colleagues; commitment to value-centered education; and service to students, the institution and the community." (photo: Prof. Fuller making a presentation at the Oxford Center for Hindu Studies)

A member of the DePauw faculty since 2004, Dr. Fuller is chair of the religious studies department and is director of the Asian studies program.

ectower duskA South Asianist who specializes in the study of Modern Hinduism, Fuller received his Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania. Prior to his arrival at DePauw, he taught at Washington and Lee University and the University of Pennsylvania. He also traveled and lived in India for years while conducting his research.

Learn more about the professor here.

Previous recipients of the Exemplary Teacher Award are:

  • 1992-93: Tom Chiarella
  • 1993-94: Andrea Sununu
  • 1997-98: Valarie Ziegler
  • 1998-99: Craig Paré
  • 1999-2000: John Dittmer
  • 2000-01: Terri Bonebright
  • 2001-02: Carl Singer
  • 2002-03: David Field
  • 2003-04: Jackie Roberts
  • 2004-05: Robert Hershberger and Tamara Beauboeuf
  • 2005-06: Anne Harris and John Schlotterbeck
  • 2006-07: Wayne Glausser
  • 2007-08: Kerry Pannell and Pamela Propsom
  • 2008-09: Matthew Oware and Barbara Steinson
  • 2009-10: Jennifer Adams, Dana Dudle and Gregory Schwipps
  • 2010-11: Catherine Fruhan and Smita Rahman
  • 2011-12: Julia Bruggemann and Angela Castañeda
  • 2012-13: Mona Bhan and Françoise Coulont-Henderson
  • 2013-14: James Mills and Susan Wilson
  • 2014-15: Marion K. "Marnie" McInnes and Alicia Suarez
  • 2015-16: Douglas Harms

DePauw was founded in 1837 by the United Methodist Church. Learn more here.