Button Menu

Four Students Selected for 2006 Indiana Intercollegiate Honor Band

Four Students Selected for 2006 Indiana Intercollegiate Honor Band

December 22, 2005

PAC snow.jpgDecember 22, 2005, Greencastle, Ind. - Four DePauw University students -- seniors Cynthia Martin (clarinet), Kendra Graf (horn), junior Tyler Pawl (baritone saxophone), and freshman Garth Anderson (trumpet) -- have been selected as members of the 2006 Indiana Intercollegiate Honor Band. This distinguished ensemble is made up of university and college music students from every university in the state. College band directors are invited to nominate up to 15 students who they feel would qualify for this premiere ensemble. Through a selection process, students are chosen to participate in two days of rehearsals, leading to a concert performance which takes place during the 2006 Indiana Music Educators Association state convention in Indianapolis, January 12-14.

"These four students represent the best of DePauw University and the School of Music", says Craig Paré, conductor of the DePauw University Band and the faculty member who nominated the students. "The experience of working side-by-side with peers from virtually every Indiana universitypare-baton.JPG and college is a unique and valuable opportunity. Cynthia, Kendra, Tyler, and Garth have clearly earned this honor through their musicianship, their desire to perform, and the quality of their work in the DePauw University Band. They are outstanding representatives of the School of Music, and I am proud to sponsor their participation."

Jack Stamp, a renowned conductor and composer who was also a guest of the University Band here at DePauw in September 2004, will be the guest conductor of the Indiana Intercollegiate Honor Bandthis year. Rehearsals will take place at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis Thursday, January 12 and Friday, January 13, with a concert performance at 11 a.m. on Friday morning during the IMEA convention.

Visit the DePauw University School of Music online by clicking here.