Button Menu

Jonathan Lambert Earns Phil Eskew Award

Jonathan Lambert Earns Phil Eskew Award

May 8, 2011

85749May 8, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. —  Jonathan Lambert of the football team has been selected as DePauw's top senior male student-athlete by DePauw's athletics department as he earned the Phil Eskew Jr. Award. The Eskew Award is presented annually to a senior male athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

Lambert, a Capital One First Team Academic All-District selection in 2010, was the team's George E. Lortz Award recipient as the senior with the highest cumulative grade point average. He posted a 3.56 GPA while majoring in biology and is a member of Chi Alpha Sigma national scholar athlete honorary.

Lambert was named to the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Academic Honor Roll three times and earned all-SCAC second team honors at free safety in 2009 and as a strong safety in 2010. He led the Tigers in tackles this year and was named DePauw's most valuable player for the 2010 Monon Bell Game and the most improved player in 2009.

Track and field performer Courtney Lauer was named the Amy Hasbrook Award winner as the top senior female student-athletes. Complete information on that is available here.

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook '00 and Phil Eskew Jr. '63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women's basketball team who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw's "D" Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.

Amy Hasbrook Award Winners   Phil Eskew Award Winners
2005 Amy Argetsinger, basketball   2005 JaMarcus Shephard, football/track and field
2006 Leslie Dillon, cross country/track and field   2006 P.J. Mitchell, baseball
2007 Liz Bondi, basketball/tennis   2007 Evan Webeler, tennis
  Sarah Gates, golf   2008
Rob Alexander, swimming and diving
2008 Katie Doogan, swimming and diving  
Jeremiah Marks, football
2009 Amanda Stier, swimming and diving   2009
Michael McNelis, football
2010 Lauren Reich, cross country/track and field   2010
John Cook, Swimming and Diving
  Megan Soultz, softball  
Spud Dick, football
2011 Courtney Lauer, track and field   2011
Jonathan Lambert, football