Show More

The Internal Grants Committee and Related Roles

Internal Grants Committee Members 2014-15

NameCampus PhoneE-MailAddress
Marnie McInnes (at large)
mmcinnes 109 Harrison
Maria Luque (Division II)
maria 121 EC
Lydia Marshall (Division IV)
lydiamarshall 223 Asbury
Steven Bogaerts (At large)
stevenbogaerts 270 Julian
Jacob Hale (Division III)
jacobhale 238 Julian
Valentin Lanzrein (Division I)
Tim Good (spring 2015 replacement)
valentinlanzrein 0115 Green Center
Jeff Kenney, Coordinator (Ex Officio & non-voting member)
jkenney 308 Harrison
Carrie Klaus, Administrative Representative (Ex Officio & non-voting member)
cklaus 377 Julian

Meetings: The Internal Grants Committee meets weekly or bi-weekly as needed (September - May) at which it makes its recommendations to the Administration for funding.

Faculty Development Coordinator: The Faculty Development Coordinator is a full-time faculty member who works half time to organize faculty development programs and to assist faculty members with their professional opportunities. There is an institutional commitment to separate faculty development from evaluation. Therefore, the Coordinator's activities are separate from faculty personnel decisions and the Coordinator does not vote on proposals before the Internal Grants Committee. In short, there is a significant institutional commitment to assist faculty members in their professional growth and development activities through a structure that assures trust in that process.

The Faculty Development Coordinator can assist faculty members in preparing applications for faculty development support, in planning their careers, and improving their teaching (for instance, by visiting classrooms, commenting on course design, and suggesting helpful resource and activities). In addition, the Coordinator organizes events such as the New Faculty Orientation, Teaching Roundtables and Faculty Forums, and provides information on development opportunities.

The Academic Affairs Office: Applications are to be submitted to Terry Bruner, Faculty Development Administrator, who handles the paperwork for the Committee and for the Vice President for Academic Affairs. If you have questions regarding reimbursement or funding, you may contact Terry in 377 Julian, by telephone (4362) or by e-mail (tbruner). Carrie Klaus (Dean of Faculty) represents the Administration on IGC.

Stewardship: The Development Office coordinates reporting to donors about faculty activities supported by their gifts. The Development Office may contact faculty members for assistance in communication with donors.