Button Menu

DePauw Debate Awards and Honors

Robert O. Weiss Speaker of the Year Award

This award is given to a graduating senior who has contributed the most to the debate program at DePauw over his or her time on campus.  The award recognizes contributions to the Debate Team, service to the Debate Society, participation in Public Debates, and Tournament Awards.  The award recipient is chosen by DePauw's Director of Forensics.  It is named in honor of Professor Emeritus of Communication, Robert O. Weiss.

2003-2004: Erich Taylor

2004-2005: Alex Spiridonov

2005-2006: J.J. Burns

2006-2007: Jennifer and Tyler Kennedy

2007-2008: Projesh Banerjea

2008-2009: Michael Lutz

2009-2010: Aaron Dicker and Keelin Kelly

2010-2011: Avery Archer

2011-2012: Not Awarded

2012-2013: Jimmy Kirkpatrick

2013-2014: Ronnie Kennedy

2014-2015: Alex Parker

2015-2016: Matt Piggins and Mickey Terlep

2016-2017: Kelechi Ikwuakor

2017-18: Daniel Schultz

2018-19: Liam Byrnes

2019-20: KeVeon White


Margaret Noble Lee Oratory Award

Margaret Noble Lee Contest in Public Speaking: In June, 1927, Edward T. Lee, Dean of the John Marshall Law School in Chicago, Illinois, endowed in perpetuity the Margaret Noble Lee contest in Public Speaking.  It was his desire that “problems of public interest be considered, free from the overtechnical, but practically helpful not only to the contestants, but also the auditors.”

2003-2004: J.J. Burns: "To the Batcave"

2004-2005: Alex Spiridonov: "Beside the Golden Door"

2005-2006: Tyler Kennedy: "Be Selfish, Consider Others: An Economic Philosophy of Life"

2006-2007: Projesh Banerjea: "The Other Side of the Atlantic"

2007-2008: Katelyn Ruegg: "Stem Cell Research: The Future of Reparative Medicine"

2008-2009: Keelin Kelly: "Girls Rule"

2009-2010: Jimmy Kirkpatrick: "The New Frontier"

2010-2011: Avery Archer: "Science and Ignorance Collide: Popular Reactions to the Fallout from Fukushima"

2011-2012: Jimmy Kirkpatrick: "Eliminate the World Bank."

2012-2013: Jimmy Kirkatrick: "Rethinking Apple Pie."

2013-2014: Simone Deighan: "Media: A Destructive and Unhealthy Influence."

2014-2015: Sarah Burtenshaw: "A Responsibility to Act."

2015-16: Adam Karadsheh: "Sexy Legislation."

2016-17: Not Awarded

2017-18: Liam Byrnes: "Prescriptions for American Political Polarization."

2018-19: Liam Byrnes: "A Case for Prison Programming."

2019-20: KeVeon White: "Pink Floyd's Republic."


Lewis Sermon Award

2006-2007: Taylor Penrod: "A Call to Follow, Not to Understand"

2008-2009: Daryl Mowrey: "The Death of Lazarus"


Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest Greek-letter society in America, and the DePauw University chapter was the first established at an Indiana college and is one of fewer than 250 chapters at distinguished colleges and universities in the nation. It is the oldest and most prestigious honors organization. Selection to the scholastic society represents the highest academic honor possible in the liberal arts and is based on the students' scholarship.

The following members of the debate team have graduated Phi Beta Kappa since 2003:

J.J. Burns

Alex Spiridonov

Projesh Banerjea

Jennifer (Starcevich) Kennedy

Tyler Kennedy

Michael Lutz

Keelin Kelly

Avery Archer

Samuel Holley-Kline

Jimmy Kirkpatrick

Shelby Beasley

Vince Guzzetta

Meredith Lockman

Matt Piggins

Alex Parker

Mickey Terlep

Seth Brawner

Luka Ignac


Walker Cup

Mr. Guy Morrison Walker, lawyer and reorganization expert (A.B. 1890, A.M. 1893, LL.B. 1891 - DePauw), made provision for the Walker Cup to be presented annually to the member of the Senior Class who shall be determined to have done the most for DePauw during his or her college course. Members of the Senior Class vote for the Walker Cup recipient each year.

The following members of the debate team have received the Walker Cup since 2003:

Christine (Walker) Archer (2011; Student Body President 2010-11)

Nic Flores (2012)

Liam Byrnes (2019)