Button Menu

Class of 1971

The Class of 1971 returned to DePauw June 2-5, 2022, to celebrate their 50th reunion during Alumni Reunion Weekend 2022. Thank you to those who returned, those who volunteered their time, and those who contributed to the class gift. 


Class of 1971 | Class Spotlights


Typically, one class speaker from the 50th Reunion class would stand up at Convocation to speak on behalf of the class. Ours is not a typical Class and this is not a typical Reunion. So, the Steering Committee decided to select several classmates who had a variety of life experiences and accomplishments and ask them to share some thoughts with the rest of the class in this virtual forum. We hope this will be more of a personal way to connect until we can actually connect in person.

The recording of the class speakers will be available for viewing after the June 11 class gathering.

If we were meeting in person, we could share our thoughts over dinner. So, think of this as the chance to catch up with some of your fellow classmates. Please click here to learn about our Class Spotlights. We are pleased to share reflections from the following members of the Class of 1971:

  • Susanne Blix
  • Mary Ganz
  • Larry Johnson
  • George Purnell
  • Dick Reck
  • Harry Rhoads
  • Georgie Woessner

Once on the page, you can click on each individual's underlined personal statement to hear from your classmates.

Class of 1971 | Class Speakers

The Class of 1971 celebrated their 50th reunion's virtual event with remarks from their class speakers, which included:

  • Doug Frantz '71, Pulitzer Prize Winning Journalist, Author and Senior Government Official
  • Wendy Blythe Gifford '71, Consultant/Romance Novelist
  • Barbara Ibrahim '71, International Philanthropy and Civic Engagement
  • Ed Greene '71, President of EMGreene Educational Connections Associates, LLC

Bios of the speakers can be found here.

Class of 1971 | DePauw through the Years, featuring Ken Owen '82

Ken Owen '82 takes the Class of 1971 on a virtual tour of their time at DePauw in his presentation, DePauw through the Years. This presentation can be accessed here


Wendy Gifford Reunion Co-chair
Jim Emison Reunion Co-chair
Georgie Miner Woessner Giving Chair
Mark Dinwiddie Steering Committee
Anne Korb Shane Steering Committee
Carolyn Russ Robinson Steering Committee
Steve Weitzel Steering Committee
John Neighbours Steering Committee
Ed Greene Steering Committee
Russ Breeden Steering Committee
Shaun Higgins Steering Committee
Peggy Schatz Mayfield Alpha Gamma Delta representative
Sue Leet Smith Alpha Chi Omega representative
Wilda Hajdu Whitley Alpha Omnicron Pi representative
Caryl Frauenhoff Rohol Alpha Phi representative
Gil Parsons Beta Theta Pi representative
Dallas Gulley Men's Hall representative
Dick Reck Delta Chi representative
Barbara Broadbent Collins Delta Delta Delta representative
Vicki Noe Hittle Delta Gamma representative
Charlie Gardner Delta Kappa Epsilon representative
Joe Hollingsworth Delta Tau Delta representative
Harry Rhoads Delta Upsilon representative
Ruth Kovac Delta Zeta representative
Marcia Cope Fleischman Kappa Alpha Theta representative
Molly Cadwallader Grossman Kappa Kappa Gamma representative
Katy Vogt McGovern Kappa Kappa Gamma representative
Elgan Baker Lambda Chi Alpha representative
Milton Shaw Longden Hall representative
Donald Town Men's Hall Association representative
Jane Everly Manning School of Nursing
Craig McGaughey Phi Delta Theta representative
Steve Jacobs FIJI representative
Steve Brown Phi Kappa Psi representative
Dave Marks Phi Kappa Psi representative
Vicki Nuetzel Holton Pi Beta Phi representative
Mike Fleming Sigma Chi representative
John Sibrava Sigma Nu representative


Class of 1971 | Reunion Archive

1971 DePauw University Commencement

1971 Commencement Speech


class of 1971 celebrating at reunionClassmates returned to DePauw June 10-12, 2016 to celebrate our 45th reunion. The weekend's highlights included an all-alumni dinner and awards celebration on the East College lawn Friday evening, a special convocation in historic Meharry Hall on Saturday morning, and our class dinner Saturday evening. Special thanks to our reunion chairs: Mark Dinwiddie '71, Jim Emison '71, Sue Leet Smith '71


45th Reunion Final Fundraising Totals

In celebration of our 45th Reunion, we made the following gifts to DePauw:

$144,865.00 40%  (170 Alumni) 31.13%  (132 Alumni)

The figures shown are based on giving to The Fund for DePauw from July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016.

$3,723,645.00 33.49% (142 Alumni) $9,771,155.09

Class Volunteers

Carolyn Cavens Weinig Alpha Chi Omega
Debbie Woody Megginson Alpha Chi Omega
Jill Matthews LeVan Alpha Chi Omega
Peggy Schatz Mayfield Alpha Gamma Delta
Wendy Gifford Alpha Phi
Vicki Noe Hittle Delta Gamma
Charlie Gardner Delta Kappa Epsilon
Joe Hollingsworth Delta Tau Delta
Harry Rhoads Delta Upsilon
Carolyn Russ Robinson Kappa Alpha Theta
John Doan Phi Gamma Delta
Victoria Nuetzel Holton Pi Beta Phi
Mike Fleming Sigma Chi