DePauw-Based Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame to Induct Five on April 12

DePauw-Based Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame to Induct Five on April 12

January 30, 2008

East College 2007 Snow Path.jpgJanuary 30, 2008, Greencastle, Ind. - "Longtime Indianapolis television news anchor Mike Ahern and Julie Inskeep, publisher of the Journal Gazette in Fort Wayne, are among five people who will be inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame in April," reports the Associated Press this afternoon. "The five will be inducted during an April 12 ceremony at the Walden Inn near the DePauw University campus."

The story notes that the other inductees will be "Jack Averitt, whose Statehouse reporting for the Indianapolis News spanned four decades; Dennis Cripe, former executive director of the Indiana High School Press Association; and Ted Knap, a national political columnist whose career started in Indianapolis."

Read the complete story at the Web site of Indiana's Munster Times.

The Hall of Fame, created in 1966 by the Indiana professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), has been located since 1976 at historic East College on the DePauw campus, where the national society was founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi. The Hall recognizes those with significant Indiana ties who have demonstrated they are journalists of the highest distinction.

For more information about the Hall of Fame and its previous inductees, visit its Web site by clicking here.