Button Menu

English Department Student Awards

English Department Student Awards 2024: Literature, Creative Writing and Journalism

Each year the English Department awards students for their achievements in Literature, Creative Writing and Journalism.


Walker Gilmer Prize For the junior or senior English major who is most outstanding in literature. Established in honor of Professor Emeritus of English Walker Gilmer, who taught at DePauw from 1963-1997.

The 2023-2024 winner of the Walker Gilmer Prize is Jack Riggle.

William G. Schoenhoff Award For the senior who, in the judgment of the Department of English, has achieved most in growth during his or her four years at DePauw. Established in memory of Mr. Schoenhoff by his parents.

The 2023-2024 winner of the William G. Schoenhoff Award is Nina Thompson.

Elizabeth B. Powell Prize For a junior who exhibits outstanding ability in the area of written communications and usage of the English language.  Established in 1987 by the friends and family of Mrs. Powell.

The 2023-2024 winner of the Elizabeth B. Powell Prize is Gabby Beury.

J. David Hogue (Class of 1921) Journalism Scholarship For a sophomore or junior with demonstrated ability and interest in the field of journalism.  Established in memory of the distinguished journalist and editor by Mrs. J. David Hogue (Mildred Robinson, class of 1921) and Mrs. Harold Corneilsen (Margaret Ellen Hogue, class of 1956). 

The 2023-2024 winner of the J. David Hogue (Class of 1921) Journalism Scholarship is Samantha Cox.

Roy and Anna Kennedy Prize in Creative Writing For the senior who has most distinguished himself or herself in creative writing and who shows great promise as an artist.  Established by Adam Kennedy ('46) in honor of his parents. 

The 2023-2024 winner of the Roy and Anna Kennedy Prize in Creative Writing is Abigail McArthur Self.

Judith Shakespeare Award for a junior or senior English Literature major exceptionally gifted in literary interpretation. 

The 2023-2024 winner of the Judith Shakespeare Award is Meaghan Delle Cave.

Mary Smith Hamer Journalism Prize for a sophomore or junior who has excelled in journalistic endeavors and who demonstrates promise for a career in journalism. Established in memory of Mary Smith Hamer ('70).

The 2023-2024 winner for the Mary Smith Hamer Journalism Prize is Eliana Alzate.

DeWitt Wallace-Reader’s Digest Print Journalism Award for juniors who have demonstrated a career interest in print journalism.

The 2023-2024 winner for the DeWitt Wallace-Reader's Digest Print Journalism Award is Abigail Fathauer.

Paul Query Prize in Poetry for a senior writing major who is an outstanding poet.  The award also includes a special feature section in A Midwestern Review

The 2023-2024 winner for the Paul Query Prize in Poetry is Nathan Roach.

Gilpin Prize in Dramatic Writing is given to a senior who is outstanding in writing. 

The 2023-2024 winner of the Gilpin Prize in Dramatic Writing is Emilio Pizana.

For a complete list of previous winners, including the Society of Professional Journalists Outstanding Graduate in Journalism Award which is no longer awarded, please click here.