Moodle Course Content Retention Policy
Retention and Removal of Moodle Courses and Content
Course-related Moodle courses and materials will be left online for a period of one year and one semester following the relevant active course semester.
Prior to retirement of the Moodle course and removal of the content, notification will be sent to inform students, faculty, and staff about the designated removal date and provide a reminder to archive materials they wish to keep.
After the designated date, the outdated Moodle course and content will be removed from the network and deleted. After removal, that content will no longer be available in Moodle, and it will not be recoverable from central Data Center backups.
Making archival backups of Moodle content prior to removal
Students, faculty, and staff are responsible for archiving and maintaining backups of their own Moodle content before their Moodle course is removed.
In the event that content from a previously-removed course needs to be restored on Moodle, the owner of that content is responsible for providing an archived copy to Information Services that can be restored.
Last update: 05-Nov-2018