Button Menu

Prof. Arthur Evans Receives France's Cyrano Prize

Prof. Arthur Evans Receives France's Cyrano Prize

July 25, 2014

Arthur B. Evans, professor of modern languages (French) at DePauw University, is the recipient of the Prix Cyrano (Cyrano Prize). Named for the early French science fiction writer Cyrano de Bergerac, the award is presented for lifetime achievements in promoting French science fiction. Dr. Evans was honored at Nemo 2014, the 41st annual French National Science Fiction Convention, which took place July 17-20 in Amiens, France.

A renowned Jules Verne scholar, Dr. Evans is the general editor of Wesleyan’s Early Classics of Science Fiction series, co-editor of The Wesleyan Anthology of Science Fiction, and managing editor of the journal Science Fiction Studies, which is published at DePauw.

Forbes has called Art Evans "the most prominent Verne scholar in the U.S."