Button Menu

Speakers Series

The Pulliam Center for Contemporary Media and DePauw's Media Fellows Program sponsor an ongoing Speakers Series which highlights various aspects of the media while also giving our students the chance to interact with working professionals and experts. These events are free and open to the public.



Believed:  An Evening with 
Lindsey Smith and Kate Wells

Join the hosts of the Peabody Award winning podcast  
"Believed" from Michigan Public Radio.

"Believed" is an inside look at how a team of women won   
a conviction in the case against Larry Nassar, one of 
the largest serial sexual abuse cases in U.S. history.

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Brandon Smith

Brandon Smith

Investigative Journalist, ProPublica

"Journalism, Government Accountability, and the Future of 
'Muckrakery': Finding a New Model"

Monday, October 7, 2019

Siva Vaidhyanathan

Dr. Siva Vaidhyanathan

Director of the Center for Media and Citizenship
Media Studies Department
University of Virginia

   "Antisocial Media:  How Facebook Disconnects Us and     
Undermines Democracy"

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Dick Johnson '76

Dick Johnson '76
Anchor/Reporter, NBC Chicago

         McWethy Mentor for WGRE and D3TV            

March 17-21, 2019

      John Strauss     

John Strauss
Digital Audience Growth Editor
Lumina Foundation
Indianapolis, IN

Kilgore Counselor for The DePauw

March 10-13, 2019

 a selection of past speakers

Dr. Amanda Lotz '96

Dr. Amanda Lotz '96
prof. of communication
studies, Univ. of michigan

The Kerner Commission 

The kerner commission 50 
years on:  miles to go

Lugar and Hamilton 

Sen. Richard Lugar
Rep. Lee Hamilton


indira lakshmanan
washington columnist,
the boston globe



Lisa frazier page
best-selling author

Craig Silverman

Craig Silverman
Media editor, buzzfeed

Jill Frederickson

JIll Frederickson '92

Kate Domaille
Kate Domaille
IES Study Abroad, london

David Dietz, Bess Evans, Duncan Wolfe

david dietz '11
bess evans '07
Duncan wolfe '11
The White house

Reuban Casteneda

ruben casteneda
US News and world report

Joe Lavine

Joe Lavine
Educator, profoto US

Ben Solomon, New York Times

Ben Solomon '10
New York Times

John Fortt

JOhn fortt

Ann Helen petersen
Buzzfeed news

Mike Sear, Teamworks

Mike Sear
teamworks media

Graham Jones, Spotify
Graham James

Miranda SpivackMIranda spivack
Pulliam distinguished professor

Larry Krutchik

Larry Krutchik
Hill+KNowlton Strategies

Brian Lamb

Brian Lamb
C-SPAN Founder

Drew Powell

Drew Powell '98
TV and Film Actor

Dr. Lisa M. Pratt

Dr. Lisa M. Pratt
Chair, NASA Mars Exploration Analysis Group

Cindy Crowley

Candy Crowley
CNN Chief Political Correspondent

Bill Rasmussen

Bill Rasmussen '54
ESPN Founder

Chinonye Chukwu

Chinonye Chukwu '07
Writer, Film Director