Button Menu

Watercolor Society of Indiana Award-Winners on Display at Peeler Art Center

Watercolor Society of Indiana Award-Winners on Display at Peeler Art Center

January 17, 2003

Also on Display: "Watercolor: In the Abstract" and  “Virginia Maksymowicz: Accumulated Intention”

January 17, 2003, Greencastle, Ind. - “Award-Winning Paintings from the Watercolor Society of Indiana,” an exhibition selected from among 70 paintings in the 20th Annual Juried Exhibition of the Watercolor Society of Indiana (WSI), opens Monday, January 20, 2003 at the Richard E. Peeler Art Center on the campus of DePauw University. The display, which runs concurrently with “Watercolor: In the Abstract,” continues through March 14.(at left is Moat at Wells Cathedral by Ted Englehart, a member of the DePauw Class of 1942)

Nationally-renowned watercolorist Carole Barnes juried this spectacular exhibition. WSI award winning artists include: Henry Bell, Peggy Brown, Shirley Werner Carr, Thea Clarke, Emel Doner, George C. Elliott, Ted Englehart, Rich Ernsting, Louise Hansen, Amanda Kirby, Jerry Smith, Creston Stokes, Leah Traugott, Doris Turnbaugh, and Robert L. Wallis (below at right is Ernsting's Queen of the Nile).

The Watercolor Society of Indiana was formed in 1983 to promote a strong awareness of Indiana painting and painters; to sponsor exhibitions; to encourage the study of watercolor through workshops and classes; to educate the public on the techniques of watercolor; and to establish the highest aesthetic standard in the field of watercolor painting. You can learn more about the Society by clicking here.

The galleries at the Richard E. Peeler Art Center are open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 4p.m.; Saturday from 10 a.m.–4 p.m.; and Sunday 1–5 p.m. The exhibit is free and open to the public. For more information, call (765) 658-6556 or send an e-mail by clicking here.